Tara Donovan, Residency January to June 2006

Tara Donovan creates sculptures from materials or everyday objects that she accumulates in order to obtain abstract volumes with disconcerting textures, both familiar and incongruous, which can evoke clouds, landscapes, rocks...

 

The assembly of an impressive number of identical objects gives the viewer a feeling of infinity. The shapes are dictated by the materials or, conversely, they enter into obvious contradiction with them, thus provoking an almost surrealist shift.

 

One can see in Tara Donovan's works a certain filiation with minimalism, in the accumulation of identical materials, in the repetition of motifs, in the close relationship between the sculptures and the space they occupy. Her work is also full of sensuality, references to landscape and nature.

 

At the Atelier Calder, the artist created a work composed of a succession of glass plates of different sizes that were broken and then assembled. This monumental work produces the effect of strata comparable in nature to a mountain range.

Photos Guillaume Blanc

© ATELIER CALDER 2020

Tara Donovan , résidence de janvier à juin 2006

Tara Donovan conçoit des sculptures à partir de matériaux ou d’objets du quotidien qu’elle accumule afin d’obtenir des volumes abstraits aux textures déroutantes, à la fois familières et incongrues, qui peuvent évoquer des nuages, des paysages, des rochers...

L'assemblage d’un nombre impressionnant d’objets identiques procure au spectateur une sensation d’infini. Les formes sont dictées par les matériaux ou, inversement, elles entrent en contradiction évidente avec eux, provoquant alors un décalage quasi surréaliste.

On peut voir dans les œuvres de Tara Donovan une certaine filiation avec le minimalisme, dans l’accumulation de matériaux identiques, dans la répétition de motifs, dans le rapport étroit entre les sculptures et l’espace qu’elles occupent. Son travail est également emprunt de sensualité, de références au paysage et à la nature.

À l’Atelier Calder, l’artiste a réalisé une œuvre composée d’une succession de plaques de verre de différentes tailles cassées puis assemblées. Cette œuvre monumentale, produit l’effet de strates comparables dans la nature à une chaîne de montagne.

 

Photos Guillaume Blanc

© ATELIER CALDER 2020