Aki Sasamoto, January to May 2021

Aki Sasamoto was born in 1980 in Kanagawa, Japan and lives and works in Brooklyn. 

After graduating from Columbia University in 2007 with an MFA in Visual Arts, her work has been presented in various venues: galleries and art centers, theaters, and public spaces, where she regularly performs. 

 

Aki Sasamoto develops a transdisciplinary practice: sculptures, installations, dance, performances, videos. Her work explores the complexity of human nature through language and movement. She constructs and deconstructs the sometimes absurd lifestyles we are led to adopt. 

She is particularly interested in food, health, hygiene, everyday themes... everything that can be translated and diverted into absurd and poetic ceremonial 

during scripted performances.

 

For the development of each of her projects, Sasamoto conducts a precise and meticulous research work, to find the best medium that will allow her to express her ideas. Her performances are realized with total commitment, sometimes to the point of physical limits. 

Performance being at the heart of her work, Sasamoto tries to find links between knowledge and know-how, gesture and intellect, sensibility and cognition, material and conceptual, and never ceases to lead a fundamental reflection on artistic creativity. 

 

 

For her residency project at Atelier Calder, Aki Sasamoto returned to her experience of confinement in New York City in 2020, questioning the transition between closed and semi-open spaces or others that are transparent but closed. It is these different perceptions and sensations that she wished to translate and express with humor and poetry in this project carried out on the scale of the studio space. This project entitled "A Millimetre Difference" was conceived as a global project. Its realization process was the subject of a film, the public restitution was translated by a visit of workshop, and a filmed interview: 

Calder Digital Studio : https://youtu.be/dQXcxYWHxeU

 

Her work has been shown at the Yokohama Triennial; St. Mark's Church in New York; The Kitchen in New York; Whitney Museum of American Art in New York; Shanghai Biennale; Mori Art Museum in Tokyo; and Hirosaki Museum of Contemporary Art. She is a 2019 Guggenheim Award winner, and in 2021 she received the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award. She holds degrees from Wesleyan University and Columbia University. Sasamoto teaches sculpture at Yale University.

Photos Guillaume Blanc

Aki sasamoto résidence de janvier à mai 2021

Aki Sasamoto est née en 1980 à Kanagawa au Japon, elle vit et travaille à Brooklyn. 

Après avoir obtenu un Master d’Arts Visuels à l’université de Columbia en 2007, son travail a été présenté dans divers lieux : galeries et centre d’art, théâtres, ou encore dans l’espace public, où elle réalise régulièrement des performances. 

 

Aki Sasamoto développe une pratique transdisciplinaire : sculptures, installations, danse, performances, vidéos. Son travail explore à travers le langage et le mouvement la complexité de la nature humaine. Elle construit et déconstruit les modes de vie parfois absurdes que nous sommes amenés à adopter. 

Elle s’intéresse particulièrement à la nourriture, la santé, l’hygiène, des thématiques du quotidien.. tout ce qui peut être traduit et détourné en cérémonial absurde et poétique 

lors de performances scénarisées.

 

Pour le développement de chacun de ses projets, Sasamoto mène un travail de recherche précis et minutieux, pour trouver le meilleur médium qui lui permettra d’exprimer ses idées. Ses performances, elle les réalise dans un engagement total allant parfois jusqu’aux limites physiques. 

La performance étant au coeur de son travail, Sasamoto, tente de trouver des liens comme savoir et savoir-faire, geste et intellect, sensible et cognitif, matériel et conceptuel, et ne cesse de mener une réflexion fondamentale sur la créativité artistique. 

 

 

Pour son projet de résidence à l’Atelier Calder, Aki Sasamoto est revenue sur son expérience du confinement à New York en 2020, elle s’est interrogée sur la transition entre des espaces fermés et des espaces semi-ouverts ou d’autres se laissant deviner en transparence tout en étant fermés. Ce sont ces différentes perceptions et sensations qu’elle a souhaité traduire et exprimer avec humour et poésie dans ce projet réalisé à l’échelle de l’espace de l’atelier. Ce projet intitulé « A Millimetre Difference » a été conçu comme un projet global. Son processus de réalisation a fait l’objet d’un film, la restitution publique s’est traduit par une visite d’atelier, et un entretien filmés : 

Atelier Calder Digital Studio : https://youtu.be/dQXcxYWHxeU

Son travail a été présenté à la Triennale de Yokohama; St. Mark’s Church à New York; The Kitchen à New York; Whitney Museum of American Art à New York; la Biennale de Shangaï; le Mori Art Museum à Tokyo et le Hirosaki Museum of Contemporary Art. Elle est lauréate d’un Prix Guggenheim en 2019, et en 2021 elle a reçu le prix de l'Académie Américaine des Arts et des Lettres. Elle est diplômée à Wesleyan University et à Columbia University. Sasamoto enseigne la sculpture à l'université de Yale.

Photos Guillaume Blanc