Alice Anderson, septembre à décembre 2019

In her artistic approach, Alice Anderson favours gesture, movement over words, repetition over single action. His practice is above all performative. Thus, she has developed an extreme attention to the sensations she perceives: light, colours, sounds, vibratory movements and waves of certain materials integrate her creations and become their raw materials. 

 

For several years, Alice Anderson has been developing a technique of conservation, of "memorization" of objects that have disappeared, by surrounding them with copper wire. This technique is similar to weaving and questions our collective memory. 

In Saché, Alice Anderson chose to work on some emblematic elements of the architecture of the Atelier Calder: the windows, the floor and the door. 

During my first visit to Atelier Calder, I was struck by the space and especially by the door and its triangular geometric shapes," explains Alice Anderson. "It was from this first scouting visit that I developed the project I developed during my residency at Atelier Calder, entitled The Ritual of the Shapes.

The resulting geometric shapes proved to be an infinite field of experimentation for the artist, which was expressed in large format paintings, sculptures, and performance.

For Alice Anderson, "the space offered by the Calder Workshop has become a true place for global experimentation since the space in the house has also become an extension of the workshop. 

 

With this project she continues her work of memorization, in order to create a new Data Architecture, resulting from new performances.

 Alice Anderson has developed new performances that magnify accidental gestures and random movements as the ultimate act of creation and a reminder of what makes us human.

 

 

Alice Anderson will have her first solo exhibition in 2011 at the Freud Museum in London. These sculptures and performances have been presented at the Whitechapel Art Gallery, 2012, the 55th Venice Biennale, 2013, the Welcome Collection London and the Espace Culturel Louis Vuitton Paris, 2015, the Saatchi Gallery and the Royal Academy of Arts 2016, Drawing Room London and the Centre Pompidou, 2017. Itinéraire d'un corps / Spirituals Machine, Galerie Valérie Bach La Patinoire Royale, Brussels, 2018. 

© ATELIER CALDER 2020

Alice Anderson, septembre à décembre 2019

Dans sa démarche artistique, Alice Anderson privilégie le geste, le mouvement à la parole, la répétition à l’action unique. Sa pratique est avant tout performative. Ainsi, elle a développé une attention extrême aux sensations qu’elle perçoit : la lumière, les couleurs, les sons, les mouvements vibratoires et ondes de certains matériaux intègrent ses créations, en deviennent les matières premières. 

 

Depuis plusieurs années, Alice Anderson développe une technique de conservation, de «mémorisation» des objets amenés à disparaître, en les entourant avec du fil de cuivre, cette technique se rapprochant du tissage, cette pratique interroge notre mémoire collective. 

A Saché, Alice Anderson a choisi de travailler sur certains éléments emblématiques de l'architecture de l'Atelier Calder : les fenêtres, le plancher ou encore la porte. 

« Lors de ma première visite à l'Atelier Calder, j'ai été frappée par l'espace et surtout par la porte et ses formes géométriques triangulaires, explique Alice Anderson, c'est à partir de cette première visite de repérage que j'ai élaboré le projet que j'ai développé pendant ma résidence à l'Atelier Calder, intitulé The Ritual of the Shapes ».

Les formes géométriques ainsi obtenues se sont révélées être un champ d'expérimentation infini pour l'artiste, qui s'est exprimé par des peintures grands formats, des sculptures, et une performance.

Pour Alice Anderson, « l'espace offert par l'Atelier Calder est devenu un véritable lieu d'expérimentation global puisque l'espace de la maison est devenu également une extension de l'atelier. 

 

Avec ce projet elle poursuit son travail de mémorisation, afin de créer une nouvelle Architecture Data, issue de performances inédites.

 Alice Anderson à élaboré de nouvelles performances qui magnifient les gestes accidentels et les mouvements aléatoires comme un acte de création ultime et un rappel de ce qui nous rend humain.

 

 

Alice Anderson réalise sa première exposition monographique en 2011 au Freud Museum de Londres. Ces sculptures et performances ont été présentées à la Whitechapel Art Gallery, 2012, à la 55è Biennale de Venise, 2013, à la Welcome Collection London et à l’Espace Culturel Louis Vuitton Paris, 2015, à la Saatchi Gallery et à la Royal Academy of Arts 2016, à Drawing Room Londres et au Centre Pompidou, 2017. Itinéraire d’un corps / Spirituals Machine, Galerie Valérie Bach La Patinoire Royale, Bruxelles, 2018.