Barthélémy Toguo, September to December 2020

The work of Barhtélémy Toguo calls for discovery and curiosity, the artist does not stop moving freely from one technique to another: drawing, painting, ink, watercolor, engraving, sculpture, installations, videos, and performances. 

This multiplication of techniques and media reflects his training and experience, which crosses cultures and countries. 

Barthélémy Toguo was born in 1967 in Cameroon. After studying at the Beaux-Arts d'Abidjan and the Ecole Supérieure d'Art de Grenoble, then at the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf, he divides his life between Paris and Cameroon. These different training courses, coming from particular histories and territories, reveal to him the complexity of the relations between Africa and the West. 

 

The teaching of art that Barhtélémy Toguo followed in Côte d'Ivoire refers to European culture and practices, while he later discovered in Europe a questioning of these same practices. These contradictions will nourish his research, questioning the notions of cultural references and more generally the status of the foreigner to constitute an identity. 

 

Through his installations, the artist stages the difficulty of blending into a host culture, by diverting certain situations, he translates the complexity of approaching a new culture while bringing with you, the one from which you come. 

 

 

A nomadic artist, he approaches various forms and themes in his work. "I am not an artist locked up in a medium or a subject, even if some themes come up regularly, my work draws up a universe without borders". 

 

 

At the Atelier Calder, Barthélémy Toguo has explored the world of Balzac. Indeed, the writer made several stays in the Château de Saché. Barthélémy Toguo based his work on two specific texts by Balzac: A Passion in the Desert, (1830), describing the mysterious relationship created between a soldier in Bonaparte's army and a panther in an Egyptian oasis, and especially Balzac's second text entitled Voyage d'un lion d'Afrique à Paris, a caustic and parodic tale Barthélémy Toguo saw there the opportunity to translate into drawing and painting the complex relationship between man and the real and fantasized animal. At the same time, Barthélémy Toguo has chosen to integrate clay into his production in Saché: with the creation of a series of 250 bricks on which the artist has printed the text "No justice no peace stronger together" associated with a series of terracotta tiles featuring the slogan "my body my choice".

Barthélémy Toguo, résidence de septembre à décembre 2020

L'œuvre de Barhtélémy Toguo appelle à la découverte et la curiosité, l'artiste ne cesse de passer librement d'une technique à une autre : dessin, peinture, encre, aquarelle, gravure, sculpture, installations, vidéos, et performances. 

Cette multiplication des techniques et des supports reflète son parcours depuis sa formation et son vécu, qui traversent les cultures et les pays. 

Barthélémy Toguo est né en 1967 au Cameroun, après des études aux Beaux-Arts d'Abidjan et à l'Ecole Supérieur d'Art de Grenoble puis à la Kunstakademie de Düsseldorf, il partage sa vie entre Paris et le Cameroun. Ces différentes formations issues d'histoires et de territoires particuliers, lui révèlent la complexité des relations entre l'Afrique et l'occident. 

 

L'enseignement de l'art qu'a suivi Barhtélémy Toguo en Côte d'Ivoire se réfère à la culture et aux pratiques occidentales, alors qu'il découvre par la suite en Europe une remise en cause de ces mêmes pratiques. Ces contradictions nourriront ses recherches, en questionnant les notions de références culturelles et de façon plus générale le statut de l'étranger à se constituer une identité. 

 

À travers ses installations, l'artiste met en scène la difficulté à se fondre dans une culture d'accueil, en détournant certaines situations, il traduit la complexité à aborder une nouvelle culture tout en apportant avec soi, celle d'où l'on vient. 

 

 

Artiste nomade, il aborde dans son travail des formes et des thématiques variées. « je ne suis pas un artiste enfermé dans un médium ou dans un sujet, même si certains thèmes reviennent régulièrement, mon travail dresse un univers sans frontière ». 

 

 

A l'Atelier Calder, Barthélémy Toguo a exploré l'univers balzacien. En effet, l'écrivain a fait plusieurs séjours dans le Château de Saché. Barthélémy Toguo s'est s'appuyé sur deux textes précis de Balzac : Une passion dans le désert, (1830), décrivant la relation mystérieuse qui se créé entre un soldat de l'armée de Bonaparte et une panthère dans une oasis égyptienne, et surtout le deuxième texte de Balzac intitulé Voyage d'un lion d'Afrique à Paris, récit caustique et parodique Barthélémy Toguo y a vu l'occasion de traduire en dessin et en peinture le rapport complexe entre l'homme et l'animal réel et fantasmé. Parallèlement, Barthélémy Toguo a choisi d'intégrer à sa production réalisée à Saché la terre : avec la création d'une série de 250 briques sur lequel l'artiste a imprimé le texte « No justice no peace stronger together » associé à une série de carreaux en terre cuite où figure le slogan « my body my choice ». 

https://www.galerie-lelong.com/fr/

Photos Guillaume Blanc

 

© ATELIER CALDER 2021