Rosa Barba, Residency September to December 2021

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

Rosa Barba proposes a multidisciplinary and experimental approach to art, very sensitive to the environment that surrounds her, she conceives her projects while creating a link between her work and the places where she intervenes. 

Her installations combine film, sculpture, performance, sound and text, while producing works that are firmly rooted in the material. Rosa Barba continues to question the notions of composition, plasticity of matter and forms. These questions are at the center of her creation and perception of her work, while engaging on more conceptual and poetic levels of reading. She creates immersive installations, totally transforming the space where they are presented. 

Her artistic practice generally translates into the making of films that use the codes of experimental documentary and fiction, exploring subjects such as natural landscapes, or human intervention on the environment, notably through historical references or personal memories. The resulting films and stories present a new and sometimes more reassuring reality. 

 

In Saché, Rosa Barba was able to develop several new projects. An experimental sound device, made from simple elements (piano strings, projectors, ...), all connected to each other, producing a live sound loop, which invaded the space of the studio. This installation was accompanied by a new series of works questioning the plasticity and transparency of film as a medium. Rosa Barba had woven 16 and 35 mm film onto frames. These developed blue and red films invited the viewer to perceive the space of the studio and the surrounding landscape through these colored films. This technique was inspired by the weaving used in basketry, a craft still present in the Saché region. 

 

 

 

Rosa Barba lives and works in Berlin

 

Her exceptional projects have been shown in monographic exhibitions at international venues such as MoMA PS1 in New York (2016), the Albertinum in Dresden, the MIT List Visual Arts Center in Cambridge, MA (2015), the Kunsthaus in Zurich, the TATE Mo-dern in London, and in France, Centre international d'art et du paysage in Vassivière (2010), at the Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012), and more recently at the CAPC in Bordeaux (2017). 

 

A solo exhibition is currently dedicated to her at the Neue NationalGalerie in Berlin,  

  

In 2022, Rosa Barba will exhibit at the CCCOD in Tours.

Rosa Barba, résidence de septembre à décembre 2021

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

Rosa Barba propose une approche multidisciplinaire et expérimentale de l’art, très sensible à l'environnement qui l'entoure, elle conçoit ses projets tout en créant un lien entre son travail et les lieux où elle intervient. 

Ses installations, associent films, sculpture, performance, son et textes, tout en produisant des œuvres très ancrées dans la matière. Rosa Barba continue de s’interroger sur les notions de composition, de plasticité de la matière et des formes. Ces questions sont au centre de sa création et de la perception de son travail, tout en s’engageant sur des niveaux de lecture plus conceptuels et poétiques. Elle conçoit des installations immersives, transformant totalement l’espace où elles sont présentées. 

Sa pratique artistique se traduit généralement par la réalisation de films reprenant les codes du documentaire expérimental et de la fiction, explorant des sujets tels que les paysages naturels, ou l’intervention humaine sur l’environnement, notamment à travers des références historiques ou des souvenirs personnels. Les films et les récits qui en résultent, en présentent une réalité nouvelle parfois plus rassurante. 

A Saché, Rosa Barba a pu développer plusieurs projets inédits. Un dispositif sonore expérimental, réalisé à partir d’éléments simples (cordes de piano, projecteurs, …), tous reliés les uns aux autres, produisant une boucle sonore diffusée en direct, qui envahissait l’espace de l’atelier. Cette installation était accompagnée d'une nouvelle série d'œuvres interrogeant la plasticité et la transparence du film comme médium. Rosa Barba avait tressé sur des cadres des films au format 16 et 35 mm. Ces pellicules développées de couleur bleu et rouge, invitaient le spectateur à percevoir l’espace de l’atelier et le paysage environnant à travers ces films colorés. Cette technique était inspirée du tressage utilisée en vannerie, artisanat toujours présent dans la région de Saché. 

 

 

 

Rosa Barba vit et travaille à Berlin

 

On a pu découvrir ses projets exceptionnels lors d’expositions monographiques au sein de structures internationales telles que le MoMA PS1 de New York (2016), l'Albertinum de Dresde, le MIT List Visual Arts Center de Cambridge, MA (2015), le Kunsthaus de Zurich, la TATE Mo-dern à Londres, ou encore en France, Centre international d’art et du paysage à Vassivière (2010), au Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012) et plus récemment au CAPC de Bordeaux (2017). 

 

Une exposition personnelle lui est consacrée actuellement à la Neue NationalGalerie à Berlin,  

  

En 2022, Rosa Barba exposera au CCCOD à Tours.

Photos Guillaume Blanc