Sam Ekwurtzel, Residency January to May 2021 

Sam Ekwurtzel was born in 1983 in Hartford (USA) and lives and works in New York. 

This sculptor works with stone, wood, glass and molten metal, as well as more ephemeral materials such as sound and air. 

In his work, Sam Ekwurtzel experiments with innovative techniques often derived from industrial techniques such as extrusion, which he applies to everyday objects and which he diverts, transforms profoundly to integrate them into his artistic practice.

At the Atelier Calder, Ekwurtzel has used this time of residency to continue to develop experimental projects based on unconventional sculptural processes. 

The artist uses objects from urban furniture: barriers, safety bollards, manhole covers and other signs, generally used to prevent traffic, delimit spaces or define routes.

The artist will coat these objects with a thick layer of ceramic - a material commonly used in industrial foundry processes to make molds - these objects are loaded into ovens, then fired at high temperatures. The metal objects melt inside the ceramic and the molten metal flows onto the floor producing abstract forms reduced to an amorphous pool of molten liquid.

With this project using elements present in our environment, Sam Ekwurtzel forces us to reflect on our place in society, these devices are designed to direct our movements and condition our paths, and more broadly to the place of art in public space.

After university studies, (Master of Visual Arts, Columbia University) Sam Ekwurtzel was able to benefit from solo exhibitions since 2011, at Reynolds Gallery (Richmond), Second Guest Projects, New York, Kind of light (2012), Simon Subal Gallery New York, New York, The Guest in the Machine (2014), Art Basel Miami, Public Sector, (2014), Richard and Dolly Maas Gallery "Room Temperature", New York (2019). 

Sam Ekwurtzel has been a regular participant in group projects: Smack Mellon, There is no synonym for hope, New York, Virginia Commonwealth University Art Gallery (2011), Chocolate Theater, New York (2012), Fieldwork, associate curator Nicolas Baume, Bass Museum of Art, Miami (2014), The public Sphere, Green farm Project, New York (2017). 

 

Photos DR

Sam Ekwurtzel en résidence à l'Atelier Calder de janvier à mai 2021 

Sam Ekwurtzel, est né en 1983, à Hartford (USA), il vit et travaille à New York. 

Cet artiste sculpteur travaille la pierre, le bois, le verre et les métaux en fusion ou encore des matières plus éphémères comme le son ou le souffle d’air. 

Dans son travail, Sam Ekwurtzel expérimente des techniques innovantes souvent issues de techniques industrielles comme l’extrusion, qu’il applique sur des objets du quotidien et qu’il détourne, transforme profondément pour les intégrer à sa pratique artistique.

A l’Atelier Calder, Ekwurtzel a utilisé ce temps de résidence pour continuer à développer des projets d’expérimentation à partir de procédés sculpturaux non-conventionnels. 

L’artiste utilise des objets issus du mobilier urbain : barrières, bornes de sécurité, ou encore plaques d’égouts et autres panneaux de signalisation, généralement utilisés pour empêcher la circulation, délimiter les espaces ou définir des itinéraires.

Ces objets, l’artiste va les enduire d’une épaisse couche de céramique - matière couramment utilisée dans les processus de fonderie industrielle pour la fabrication de moules - ces objets sont chargés dans des fours, puis ils sont cuits à haute température. Les objets en métal fondent à l’intérieur de la céramique et le métal en fusion s’écoule sur le sol produisant ainsi des formes abstraites réduits à une flaque amorphe de liquide fondu.

Avec ce projet utilisant des éléments présents dans notre environnement, Sam Ekwurtzel nous oblige à réfléchir à notre place dans la société, ces dispositifs sont conçus pour diriger nos déplacements et conditionner nos parcours, et plus largement à la place de l’art dans l’espace public.

Après des études universitaires, (Master d’arts visuels, université de Columbia) Sam Ekwurtzel a pu bénéficier d’expositions personnelles dès 2011, à la Galerie Reynolds (Richmond), Second Guest Projects, New York, Kind of light (2012), Galerie Simon Subal New York, New York, The Guest in the Machine (2014), Art Basel Miami, Public Sector, (2014), Galerie  Richard and Dolly Maas « Room Temperature », New York (2019). 

Sam Ekwurtzel a participe régulièrement à des projets collectifs : Smack Mellon, There is no synonym for hope, New York, Virginia Commonwealth Galerie d’art de l’université (2011), Chocolate Theater, New York (2012), Fieldwork, commissaire associé Nicolas Baume, Musée d’art Bass, Miami (2014), The public Sphere, Green farm Project, New York (2017). 

 

Photos DR