Samara Golden, Residency January to April 2022

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

Samara Golden's works take the form of immersive installations, environments capable of modifying the perception of space. To do this, she uses illusion (transparency of glass, combined with the reflections of mirrors...) to modify or extend physical space and create what she calls impossible or illusory spaces: places that remain inaccessible in real life, but that the viewer perceives as being able to be.

The elusive part of her installations is the disturbance they create in our understanding of space. The viewer has the sensation that the space can extend in all directions, suggesting the existence of adjacent rooms that ultimately do not exist.

 

In her installations the human presence is simply suggested, by an abundance of everyday objects, tangled furniture, interiors of apartments that seem to have been abandoned, deserted in a hurry (spilled objects, unfinished meals ...). Sometimes the human presence takes the form of figurines, staged in more or less understandable postures, reinforcing the feeling of drama that is being played out and of diffuse tensions.

But no scenario is really definable, Samara Golden applies herself to develop an imagery that is neither narrative nor abstract, but still recognizable by subtly referring to a commonly shared visual universe.

A feeling of emptiness, of vertigo, seizes the viewer in front of this disturbing absence. This emptiness then becomes the receptacle of its own projections. Behind a very present formalism, the artist establishes a very strong relationship to life and its vulnerability. Her installations combine the real and the unreal to create a mental space or a psychological space.

Through her installations, Samara Golden translates the complexity of human existence in the 21st century.

These illusory spaces function as a metaphor for a psychological state, reflecting a state of internal struggle, personal devastation or sadness. In this, his works represent a troubling polarity between empathy and distance, between contemplation and disaster.

Often in her work, projects are born from personal experiences and not from concepts. Thus, for the project she wishes to develop at the Atelier Calder, the artist relies on a process of experimentation carried out throughout her residency using different materials.  For this project, Samara Golden wishes to introduce more reality, this experience will allow her to render emotions and feelings at the time they were created.

 

Samara Golden was born in 1973, (Michigan, USA) she lives and works in Los Angeles, she graduated (MFA) from Columbia University (New York). Her installations have been shown recently in the group exhibition "Psyche als Schauplatz des Politischen" at the Staatliche Kunsthalle in Baden Baden, Germany (2019), "Upstairs at Steve's" at The Fabric Workshop & Museum in Philadelphia (2021).

Her work has been exhibited at MoMA/PS1 in New York during the Whitney Biennial, and at the Hammer Museum & MOCA in Les Angeles, Zabludowicz Collection in London and Yuz Museum in Shanghai. Her work is included in the collections of the Museum of American Art, Whitney, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, Zabludowicz Collection, London, Yuz Museum, Shanghai.

 

 

More information on Samara Golden https://samaragolden.com/home.html

                                                           

 https://www.nightgallery.ca/artists/samara-golden

Photos Samara Golden et Guillaume Blanc

Samara Golden, résidence de janvier à avril 2022

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

Les œuvres de Samara Golden prennent le forme d’installations immersives, d’environnements capables de modifier la perception de l’espace. Pour cela, elle a recourt à l’illusion (transparence du verre, allié aux reflets de miroirs…) pour modifier ou étendre l’espace physique et créer ce qu’elle nomme des espaces impossibles ou illusoires : des lieux qui restent inaccessibles dans la vie réelle, mais que le spectateur perçoit comme pouvant l’être.

La part insaisissable de ses installations, tient au trouble qu’elles instaurent dans notre compréhension de l’espace. Le spectateur a la sensation que l'espace peut s’étendre dans toutes les directions, suggérant l’existence de pièces adjacentes qui finalement n’existent pas.

 

Dans ses installations la présence humaine est simplement suggérée, par un foisonnement d’objets du quotidien, de mobilier enchevêtré, des intérieurs d’appartements qui semblent avoir été abandonnés, désertés dans la précipitation (objets renversés, repas inachevés…). Parfois la présence humaine prend la forme de figurines, mises en scène dans des postures plus ou moins compréhensibles, renforçant le sentiment de drame qui se joue et de tensions diffuses.

Mais aucun scénario n’est vraiment définissable, Samara Golden s’applique à mettre au point une imagerie qui ne soit ni narrative ni abstraite, mais tout de même reconnaissable en faisant subtilement référence à un univers visuel communément partagé.

Une sensation de vide, de vertige, s’empare du spectateur face à cette absence inquiétante. Ce vide devient alors le réceptacle de ses propres projections. Derrière un formalisme très présent, l’artiste instaure un rapport très fort à la vie et à sa vulnérabilité. Ses installations combinent réel et irréel pour créer un espace mental ou un espace psychologique.

A travers ses installations, Samara Golden, traduit la complexité de l’existence de l’être humain au XXIème siècle.

Ces espaces illusoires fonctionnent comme une métaphore d’un état psychologique, traduisant un état de lutte interne, de dévastation personnelle ou de tristesse. En cela ses œuvres figurent une polarité troublante entre empathie et distance, entre contemplation et désastre.

Souvent dans son travail, les projets naissent d’expériences personnelles et non de concepts. Ainsi pour le projet qu’elle souhaite développer à l’Atelier Calder, l’artiste s’appuie sur un processus d’expérimentation mené tout au long de sa résidence à partir de différents matériaux.  Pour ce projet, Samara Golden souhaite introduire davantage de réel, cette expérience lui permettra de rendre compte des émotions et des sentiments au moment où elles ont été créées.

Samara Golden est née en 1973, (Michigan, Etats-Unis) elle vit et travaille à Los Angeles, elle est diplômée (MFA) de l’université de Columbia (New York). Ses installations ont été présentées récemment lors de l’exposition collective : « Psyche als Schauplatz des Politischen » au Staatliche Kunsthalle à Baden Baden en Allemagne (2019), « Upstairs at Steve’s » à The Fabric Workshop & Museum à Philadelphie (2021).

Son travail a été exposé au MoMA/PS1 à New York lors de la Biennale du Whitney, et au Hammer Museum & MOCA à Les Angeles, Collection Zabludowicz à Londres et Yuz Museum à Shangaï. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans les collections du Museum of American Art, Whitney, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, Zabludowicz Collection, Londres, Yuz Museum, Shanghai.

 

 

Plus d’informations sur Samara Golden https://samaragolden.com/home.html

                                                               https://www.nightgallery.ca/artists/samara-golden

Photos Samara Golden et Guillaume Blanc