Tarik Kiswanson, Residency January to July 2020

Tarik Kiswanson is developing a multifaceted artistic practice that includes writing, sculpture, performance, sound, and video.

It is through the dialogue he initiates between these multifaceted practices that an original conceptual language emerges. The notions of uprooting, regeneration and renewal are recurring themes in Kiswanson's work.

His artistic approach is in line with the concept of "the thought of trembling" described by the philosopher Édouard Glissant, as a means of apprehending the contingent nature of the world. This seismic thought, resistant to any fixation operation, trembles under the effect of the breath caused by the collision of the multiple voices of the world and "plunges us into an intimate understanding of the depths". The tremors denote a form of refusal, an inability to be contained.

This form of existential and reflexive disruption rejects notions of stable identity, as well as fixed and imperial categories of thought. "The thought of trembling" crosses the different axes of Tarik Kiswanson's practice like an invisible current.

Born in Halmstad, Sweden, where his family exiled from Palestine in the 1980s, his artistic practice reflects an engagement with the poetics of interbreeding: a means of writing and surviving at the intersection of multiple conditions and contexts. Her practice examines notions of displacement and interstitiality that relate specifically to the context of loss and gain that has affected the second generation of migrants. Her practice is shaped by movement, the blurring of boundaries, the simultaneous belonging to all places and to none in particular.

His various works can be understood as a cosmology of related conceptual 'families', each exploring variations on such topics as refraction, multiplication, disintegration, hybridity and polyphony, through their own specific language.

 

Tarik Kiswanson is a graduate of the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris (2014) and a BA from Central Saint Martins - University of the Arts London (2010).

He has recently presented his work at the Centre Pompidou (2019), the Ural Biennial (2019), the Performa Biennial (2019), Lafayette Anticipations (2018), the Fondation Ricard (2018) and the Gwangju Biennial (2018). His upcoming solo exhibitions include the Carré d'Art-Musée d'art contemporain in Nîmes and the MMAG Foundation in Amman. 

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

© ATELIER CALDER 2020

Tarik Kiswanson, résidence de janvier à juillet 2020

Tarik Kiswanson développe une pratique artistique multiple qui comprend l’écriture, la sculpture, la performance, le son, ainsi que la vidéo.

C'est par le biais du dialogue qu’il initie entre ces pratiques aux multiples facettes qu'un langage conceptuel original émerge. Les notions de déracinement, de régénération et de renouvellement sont des thèmes récurrents dans l'œuvre de Kiswanson.

Sa démarche artistique rejoint le concept de « la pensée du tremblement » décrit par le philosophe Édouard Glissant, comme moyen d’appréhender la nature contingente du monde. Cette pensée sismique, résistant à toute opération de fixation, tremble sous l'effet de souffle provoqué par l’entrée en collision des voix multiples du monde et « nous plonge dans une compréhension intime des profondeurs ». Les tremblements dénotent une forme de refus, une incapacité à être contenus. Cette forme perturbatrice existentielle et réflexive rejette les notions d'identité stable, ainsi que les catégories fixes et impériales de la pensée. « La pensée du tremblement » traverse les différents axes de la pratique de Tarik Kiswanson comme un courant invisible.

Né à Halmstad, en Suède, où sa famille s'est exilée de Palestine dans les années 1980, sa pratique artistique témoigne d'un engagement avec la poétique du métissage : un moyen d'écrire et de survivre à l’intersection de multiples conditions et contextes. Sa pratique examine les notions de déplacement et d'interstitialité qui se rapportent spécifiquement au contexte de la perte et du gain ayant affecté la seconde génération migratoire. Sa pratique est façonnée par le mouvement, le trouble des frontières, l'appartenance simultanée à tous les lieux et à aucun en particulier. Ses différents travaux peuvent être compris comme une cosmologie de « familles » conceptuelles connexes, chacune explorant des variations qui portent sur des sujets tels que la réfraction, la multiplication, la désintégration, l'hybridité et la polyphonie, à travers leur propre langage spécifique.

Tarik Kiswanson est diplômé de l'École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris (2014) et d’une licence de la Central Saint Martins - University of the Arts London (2010). Il a récemment présenté son travail au Centre Pompidou (2019), à la Biennale de l'Oural (2019), à la Biennale Performa (2019), à Lafayette Anticipations (2018), à la Fondation Ricard (2018) ainsi qu’à la Biennale de Gwangju (2018). Ses prochaines expositions personnelles incluent le Carré d'Art-Musée d'art contemporain de Nîmes et la Fondation MMAG à Amman. 

 

Photos: Louis Ramac - Luca Lomazzi - Adrianna Glaviano

© ATELIER CALDER 2020