William Lamson, residency from May to July 2018

William Lamson was born in 1977, lives and works in Brooklyn.

William Lamson develops interdisciplinary projects, involving the use of everyday objects, building materials, or simple techniques in complex devices where natural elements such as water, air or mineral materials intervene.

During his stay at Atelier Calder, Lamson was able to work on several elements involving geology and architecture. Thus, he took 16 sylexes from the ground around Saché and created a series of sculptures of abstract forms, moulded after certain architectural elements of the workshop, or he worked on objects collected from a metal recuperator (broken engine parts, discarded objects...). In addition, there is a sculpture made of blocks of salt, on which water flows, causing a phenomenon of dissolution.

Lamson, a half-scientific half-organic installation or a natural process reproduced in an accelerated manner, takes a sensitive and questioning look at nature and its phenomena. Borrowing methods and objects from the sciences, particularly geology, he questions in his installations the relationship between human beings and their environment - natural, artificial and technological.

 

www.williamlamson.com

© ATELIER CALDER 2020

William Lamson, résidence de mai à juillet 2018

William Lamson est né en 1977, il vit et travaille à Brooklyn.

William Lamson développe des projets interdisciplinaires, impliquant l'utilisation d'objets du quotidien, des matériaux de construction, ou des techniques simples dans des dispositifs complexes où les éléments naturels tels que l'eau, l'air ou des matières minérales interviennent.

Durant son séjour à l'Atelier Calder, Lamson a pu travailler sur plusieurs éléments faisant appel à la géologie, ou à l'architecture. Ainsi, il a prélevé du sol, 16 sylex des environs de Saché, et a réalisé un ensemble de sculptures de formes abstraites, moulées d'après certains éléments architecturaux de l'atelier, ou encore il est intervenu sur des objets collectés auprès d'un récupérateur de métal (pièces de moteurs cassées, objets mis au rebus..). A cela, s'ajoute une sculpture composée de blocs de sel, sur lequel de l'eau ruisselle, provoquant un phénomène de dissolution.

Installations mi-scientifiques mi-organiques ou encore processus naturels reproduits en accéléré, Lamson, pose un regard sensible et interrogateur sur la nature et ses phénomènes. Empruntant méthodes et objets aux sciences, notamment à la géologie, il interroge dans ses installations le rapport de l'être humain à son environnement – naturel, artificiel et technologiqu
e

 

www.williamlamson.com
 

© ATELIER CALDER 2020